Roy Kinsey – “Blackie: A Story by Roy Kinsey” (Release)

I’ve been meaning to share Roy Kinsey‘s new Blackie album for a handful of weeks, but I’ve been behind on most things blog-related. Either way, if you clicked on this link, I suggest you head over to Billboard to read an interview they did with the Chicago artist and listen to Roy’s latest opus. Purchase and listen via iTunes or Roy’s website.

blackie: a story by roy kinsey, is the 4th studio album by chicago born, queer-identified, rapper and librarian, roy kinsey. this new, highly anticipated release, is a message-oriented project, covering the effects of racism, the Great Migration, addiction, violence, mental illness and sexuality.

.blackie tracklist + credits

1. blackbird (+migration) (produced by mike jones)
2. mississippi mud (produced by mike jones)
3. citadel blues f. joshua torrez (produced by nick castle)
4. rbg (produced by phoelix)
5. jungle book (produced by mike jones + spoken thought)
6. great aggin [reprise] f. pete sayke + stik figa (produced by mike jones)
7. for colored boys (+ meditation) (produced by mike jones)
8. ring, ring (produced by phoelix)
9. function (+medication) (produced by ill brown + mike jones)
10. MRMR (produced by ill brown)
11. .blackie (produced by nick castle)

running time: 44 minutes

written by: roy kinsey
executive produced by: mike jones
mixed by: ill brown
brought to you by: fantastic sound/futurehood


I'm just trying to make my art and do what's smart. Cake donuts are clutch.