Miles Davis & Robert Glasper – “Violets” ft. Phonte & BeMyFiasco (Produced by 9th Wonder)

Robert Glasper is gearing up to drop a Miles Davis salute in album form, titled Everything’s Beautiful, and yesterday “Violets” featuring Phonte and BeMyFiasco was previewed. The song, which features a beautifully written song all around, features production from 9th Wonder. The 11-track album can be pre-ordered today from iTunes, ahead of the May 27th release date.

The album blends a diverse group of master takes and outtakes fromacross Miles’ incredible tenure with Columbia Records (1955-1985) with original reinterpretations of songs by Davis. From the obvious (riffs and passages within the catalog) to the obscure (samples of Miles’ in-studio instructions spoken after false starts), Glasper has built something unique but still unquestionably Miles.

Everything’s Beautiful Track List:
1. “Talking Shit”
2. “Ghetto Walkin” featuring Bilal
3. “They Can’t Hold Me Down” featuring Illa J
4. “Maiysha (So Long)” featuring Erykah Badu
5. “Violets” featuring Phonte
6. “Little Church” featuring Hiatus Kaiyote
7. “Silence Is The Way” featuring Laura Mvula
8. “Song For Selim” featuring KING
9. “Milestones” featuring Georgia Ann Muldrow
10. “I’m Leaving You” featuring John Scofield and Ledisi
11. “Right On Brotha” featuring Stevie Wonder


I'm just trying to make my art and do what's smart. Cake donuts are clutch.